Lucketts Ruritan Club Makes First Youth Development Grant Awards

The Lucketts Ruritan Club has awarded three Youth Development Grants for the first cycle of the Club’s 2020 awards.  The awards totaled $3620 for projects and programs that benefit Lucketts youth. First award grant recipients are:
  •  Lucketts Elementary School, Parent Liaison Office – a grant of $1,620 to fund evening childcare services for parents attending the school’s Beginning English as a Second Language, (ESL) program.  The Loudoun Literacy Council will provide an ESL instructor and class materials.
  • Lucketts Elementary PTA – a grant of $1500 for installation of a Sensory Pathway at the school.  The Sensory Pathway helps students improve their sequencing and focusing skills.
  • Phillip Thresher, of Lucketts Boy Scout Troop 1910 – $500 for the purchase of plants and materials to construct a flowerbed at the Lucketts Community Center entrance as an Eagle Scout project. Phillip designed the flowerbed, researched, and selected suitable plants, and prepared an installation plan.  He will mentor and instruct ten younger Troop members on the installation of the final project.
Adolfo Menendez, President of the Lucketts Ruritan Club, stated  “…Where needs exceed our Club’s ability to fully fund a qualified request, we are working to find partners, like the Loudoun Literacy Council, to assist our applicants.”

Lucketts Elementary School, Parent Liaison Office–Karen Feldman (Adult Literacy Program Director, Loudoun Literacy Council), Nikki Daruwala (Executive Director, Loudoun Literacy Council), Al Menendez (President, Lucketts Ruritan Club), Kim Baney (Lucketts Elementary School Parent Liaison), and Carolyn Clement (Principal, Lucketts Elementary School) receiving ESL Program Grant from Lucketts Ruritan Club.

Lucketts Elementary PTA–Al Menendez (President, Lucketts Ruritan Club), awarding Sensory Pathway Grant to Lauren O’Laughlin (President, Lucketts Elementary School PTA) and Carolyn Clement (Principal, Lucketts Elementary School).

Al Menendez awarding Eagle Scout Project Grant to Phillip Thresher.